My Monochromatic Day

Moi

Yours truly, checking out the lens’ focus action in the mirror.

01b_monochromatic blog01

.

Balboa Wharf

This is a sign at the auto ferry to Balboa Island. I dig these fun, old signs. Nowadays, signs are so sterile and lack style.

Tik iBoat

For fans of tiki, here’s a swingin’ tub along Balboa boardwalk.

Woody

I shot this boiler as it disembarked the Auto Ferry.

monochromatic blog

.

Balboa Ferris Wheel

This ferris wheel at Balboa also happens to be where I proposed to my lovely bride. There was no one else riding at the time, so I paid the operator to stop us at the top.

Balboa Pier

The waves at the beach were pretty high this weekend. You can get an idea how big they were by comparison to the Balboa Pier. I stood on the pier to take a few shots, and it shook every time a wave hit.

Balboa Pier

I only took this boring shot to show the narrow depth of field on this lens when the aperture is opened all the way to f1.7. The camera was sitting on the railing of the pier.

57 Freeway

I always hate the freeway drive home from the beach in the summertime. This is a shot on the 57 Freeway heading north, which we hopped on in hopes that things would be moving along briskly. Boy, were we wrong.

08b_monochromatic blog03

.

57 Freeway

By the time we reached this point of the freeway, we decided to get off and take streets home. This shot is terribly out of focus.

Noel

The long drive home afforded the kids time to read in the back seats.

Ontario, CA

A shot outside my window while speeding past farms and dairies.

12b_monochromatic blog04

.

Driving

My lovely bride sitting behind the wheel as we crawl along on the freeway. You can see this lens has nice, round aperture blades.

9 thoughts on “My Monochromatic Day

  1. Nice! This comes at an opportune time, as I’ve just picked up a 50mm 1:1.8 prime for my Canon, so I’ll be learnin’ how to use a prime myself soon. Your examples give me ideas about what to try. (:

    • Cool! I’m sure you’ll enjoy Canon’s nifty-fifty, as it’s autofocus and all. I still eventually plan to get a Canon 50mm, though my camera is a crop-sensor, so I’m not really getting a 35mm equivalent.

      • Yep, I have an EOS 20D, so I’m at a 3/4 size sensor too, and 50mm works out to 80mm if we we’re talking full-frame. Still, it’s a nice, fast lens which ought to be much better in low-light than the telephoto ones. How much better, I’m still finding out.

Leave a comment