Venice Type-In

.

Signs above the theatre entrance at Venice California

.

This little fellow greeted visitors as they arrived.

In case you missed it, the film’s Facebook page can be found HERE.

For the films official website, visit HERE.

.

That’s Christopher Lockett standing up front; and on that little table was a little Hermes on which guests were able to sign in.

And here’s a close-up of the Hermes with visitors’ names.

Here’s a shot of the little theater before it filled completely for the first screening of the day of the documentary film, The Typewriter (In the 21st Century).

This young lady brought a picture of her father-in-law, along with medals he won for typing competitions, as well as the very Underwood 5 he used in those competitions. Lots of history there.

.

The first time I’ve seen one of these in person and in action.

My youngest daughter on Michael’s very nice maroon Corona. Although I’ve never had any luck with these models, Michael’s example with absolutely gorgeous, and a great typer, too.

My oldest daughter, who made the rounds and tried just about every typewriter there. She’s a typospherian in the making.

Even my little man got in on the action.

Ruben Flores from L.A. Office Machines was there answering questions, offering advice, and providing repair services. He was a great guy (as was everyone I met).

Danny Flores performing a repair on an Olympia SM3.

Ermanno Marzorati of Star Office Machines offering tips to young typewriter enthusiasts.

Steve Soboroff with some very fine examples from his collection of typewriters from both the famous and the infamous. He’s pictured here with Hemingway’s 1932 Royal.

Another machine from Soboroff’s collection was Ray Bradbury’s 1947 Royal KM.

I thought this was the coolest machine Soboroff brought: it’s Orsen Well’s 1926 Underwood portable.

I have no idea what kind of typewriter this was, but it belonged to Theodore Kaczynski, a.k.a. the Unabomber.

Soboroff encouraged Michael to try out the infamous typing machine.

Steve and Mike, two really cool guys.

We helped carry Soboroff’s stuff to his car. I don’t know the name of the gentleman on the left. That’s Ermmano and Michael on the right.

Here’s a close-up of the trunk with a few of the machines. Man, now that’s a lot of history there.

A bulletin board at the entrance of the theatre.

Lousie Marler posing in front of some of her work.

.

There were other items for sell featuring Louise’s work.

— Yes, even typewriter t-shirts.

.

This was the upstairs gallery with Louise’s artwork, as well as some typewriters within the room for visitors to try out.

My wife and the kids posing for a pic in the gallery.

I took this shot of the courtyard that was buzzing during the show. This is it near the end of the day, after most people have packed up and gone.

Well, that’s it. I took many more pics, but this was already too lengthy, and I tried to show enough to give you an idea of what it was like being there. After meeting Michael, I told him he was going to be my local go-to typewriter buddy for info on local events. He seems more plugged into what’s going on than I. But for my first type-in, this was fun. And I finally got to check out the film. Very cool.

24 thoughts on “Venice Type-In

  1. Wonderful post. The type-in looked like a great time and was well attended. Nice to see some of Steve’s celebrity typewriters and some of the people from the typewriter movie. Thanks!

    • Yeah, it was a blast! (Incidentally, I totally enjoy seeing the machines that make it through your shop. Your store-point-of-view is one of the coolest perspectives from which to view the typewriter resurgence. I know there are other repair guys in the film, but I don’t think they have a blog documenting their experiences.)

  2. You’ve got some really wonderful photos and info here! I think it’s really cool how all three of us went, all three of us blogged, and all three of us came away with different photos, experiences and viewpoints. Well done!

    • Thanks, Anna! (It’s funny, when I read your first post, I totally sympathized. I was so wiped out that day, I couldn’t bring myself to post immediately either. In fact, I almost missed out on posting yesterday!)

      • Haha, I think that happened to all of us! It was a long and draining day, but on;y in the most wonderful of ways.

        This reminds me…I’m planning a type-in on the Queen Mary in Long Beach next month. Are you game?

      • It depends on the details. Let me know about the date, time, cost (if any), and so forth. Tentatively, however, I will say I’m definitely interested. Our family enjoys the Queen Mary, and it would be the perfect vintage/retro venue for e typewriter event – Keep me posted!

  3. Great!!

    Thanks for videoing Chris’ introduction. That’s nice that he quoted me. I haven’t seen the film yet and barely remember what I said!

    I have enjoyed seeing three personal perspectives on this event.

    • Ya know Richard, one of the most fascinating experiences for me is to see what someone looks like after only ever hearing their voice on radio, or conversely, as in your case, hearing the voice of someone I’ve only seen in pictures. It brings a whole new dimension to the person.

      Also, the film was very well edited, and clips of your interview were dispersed throughout. If you’ve seen clips of the film, the entire documentary is more or less just like an extended version. I really enjoyed it. Christopher did a fine job directing it.

  4. This report (and your Beloved’s) did such a wonderful job of capturing the energy and camaraderie that is the Typosphere. Thanks to you both for posting! (Sighing wistfully over that Oliver . . . someday I will get one of those!)

  5. Pingback: Nice review and pictures of the Venice Type-In | L. A. Marler Images, Graphics, Photos, Fine Prints

Leave a comment