8 thoughts on “A Brief Post

    • Well, it’s a lot like spinach; one either likes it, or one doesn’t. Plus, I’m a creature of habit, and I tend to find such changes disagreeable. In any case, it’s an entirely subjective preference on my part, so I’m not suggesting that my way is the right way. My wife happened to like the character and was sad to see the person go.

  1. This is the Bond film that a lot of fans were waiting for. While it can’t be all things to all people, it came very close to being the kind of Bond film that’s close in spirit to Fleming’s books. And the Tennyson poem scene perfectly distilled (for me) what is the essence of the character-a man who does what’s required to get the job done.
    I was sad to “see them go” (wink, Scott), but I understood the necessity of it.
    A great Bond film, an instant classic in the series.
    I’ll say more in my review.

    • I’m looking forward to your review. And I think you’re right about this being the film fans were waiting for. I think this is one of the best post-Connery Bond films.

      In a way, it’s difficult comparing the old and new, because new films obviously have better technology, better production quality, and better stunt-work / fighting choreography, etc. (I’m sure Connery would be doing all the fancy martial arts as well if he were doing the films today). When I think about it, this film didn’t really have much of an original story concept, but it had all the newest technology that makes for a great visual experience, so it’s hard not thinking this is the best film yet. And yet, when I think about all the stuff that got me excited about the film, it was those aspect that went beck to the old films (the opening sequence, the Bond theme music, the Aston Martin, M’s familiar office layout, etc). Without all of those traditional “Bond” film elements, this could have been a Mission Impossible film, or any number of action films. In a way, advanced film technology is what makes it difficult to make an original Bond film. There was once a time when a Bond film had all the coolest stuff, and now every Tom Cruise, Dick, or Harry can make an action film with all of the stunts, choreographed martial arts, and so forth. It’s as if the only way to set the new Bond films apart from the rest of current action/spy films is to tap into the traditional things that we recognize as part of a Bond film.

      Also, as much as the past films weren’t really like the books, one gets used to some element (or actor) and it’s difficult abandoning what has essentially become as iconic aspect to the film series. In the end, I tend to think the Bond books and the Bond films are two entirely different animals, and people have come to expect different things of each. For those of us who watched the films long before they read the books, the original films have become the standard by which other films are measured. For those who were fans of the books first, I think very few films can ever capture what one has already imagined in one’s mind from having read a book.

      • Oh, Buster, that’s a good take and I’m sure it’ll help me get a little more out of seeing Skyfall when it finally gets here. Thanks.
        == Michael

Leave a Reply

