12 thoughts on “Pipe Dreams

  1. I love how your daughter’s main character is smoking a pipe! This is very nicely written, and her handwriting is very interesting. I really like it.

    Also, a bit of a funny question: Was his name originally ‘Woodcock’? Just what it looks like where it is crossed out in the title. Ha!

    • I was pleasantly surprised to see her incorporate a pipe as well, and I suppose it’s due to my own pipe collection.
      And, yeah, I encouraged her to make a slight change to the name because it sounded kinda funny to me, if ya know what I mean.

    • Yeah, that intro made me want to read the rest of the story, too, which is the kind of story I enjoy – one that sucks me in right away. Whether she can make the rest of the story just as compelling is left to be seen (assuming she finishes it).

  2. What a wonderful beginning. It has a feel of the late Victorian era and H. Rider Haggard. I want to keep reading.Please encourage her to continue!

    Tobacco suggestion: If you like Virginia tobaccos (my favorites), try the new McClelland Stave-Aged ribbon cut and Mac Baren HH Mature Virginia. They both make good use of the natural sweetness in pressed Virginias. They are for slow puffing and I usually smoke them in my oversized Bonfigloli pipes. They also work well in a corn cob.

    • Yeah, I thought it actually had an old pulp-adventure feel to it. My daughter likes to sit in my studio and listen to OTR programs like Box 13 and Adventures By Morse. She also loves to watch the old films with me; stuff like Charlie Chan, Mr. Moto (with Peter Lorre), and Sherlock Holmes (with Basil Rathbone). We don’t get any kind of television or cable reception coming into the house, so my kids only watch whatever dvds we buy or rent, which means they watch a lot of old stuff I used to watch as a kid.

      I think I tend to favor Virginias as well. I enjoy sweeter tobaccos, though not too candy-ish sweet. But the tobacco I had was actually Sutliff Private Stock Barbados Plantation (for some reason I confused it with Jamaican Rum, which is an in-house blend from my my local tobacconist). I received a tin of it from someone who sold me a pipe, and it was wonderful. It has one of those room notes that everyone around you will enjoy. I’m still trying to get used to English blends. It’s an acquired taste, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

