Blah, Blah, Blogs & my Remington 5

12 thoughts on “Blah, Blah, Blogs & my Remington 5

  1. I personally like varied content in the blogs I follow. The element of surprise keeps me clicking. I’ve found the Typosphere is pretty forgiving as long as at least some content is typecast or typewriter related. I try to make sure at least every third post has some typewriter element.

    The whole electronic and social media aspect of modern marketing does get stressful. You absolutely have to do what supports your income.

    Also, this is just a hunch, but I suspect that Google prioritizes Blogger pages and images in search. I can’t say that definitively, but I have been surprised when looking at my stats and finding Google keyword searches landing there. I threw up a quick Ralph McQuarrie salute with scans from sources I had laying around the house and it has picked up several hundred hits from Google. You could always try doing Blogger linked from your website just to see what happens. The updated “Snapshot” format might be well suited for your illustration posts. And if you end up doing duplicate posts it would not be difficult to rebrand this blog into a primary. Yeah, I’m playing fast and loose with your livelihood – take it all with a grain of salt.

  2. I used to have an eBlogger blog attached via ftp to my homepage, but eBlogger quit their ftp service, so that blog ended. So then I started using Facebook, but FB is only good for reaching those who you’ve friended, and it’s not really what I wanted. It’s just a lot of nonsense, and I found it was too difficult to remain focused on just my art. It ended up being a mish-mash of my art, family stuff, and some of the things I post here. Right now I’m trying to set up my new blog to auto forward my posts to FB, butthe WordPress FB plug-in doesn’t seem to be cooperating. Oh, well, I’ll figure it out later.

    So what kind of stuff by McQuarrie did you post? I really dig his early Star Wars concept work. I have the portfolio from the first film (it’s amazing that we hang on to stuff from our childhood), and that illustration of Darth Vader and Luke in a light-saber duel is my favorite.

  3. That little knob on the back of the Remington 5 is a very clever thing with a very specific use. If you leave the shift lock on, put the typewriter in its case, and close the case, that knob will release the shift lock and lower the carriage, so that the typewriter doesn’t get damaged from the top of the case hitting the raised carriage. Brilliant, eh?

    • Thanks for letting me know. I was going crazy trying to figure it out.
      The thing is, after reading what you wrote, I locked the shift and pushed that back button, but it didn’t drop the carriage. Does it only work by closing the lid? Or might that button on my machine be broken?

      • Hmm. I might be wrong, but I think that’s its function. It may require some pretty strong pressure, as would be exerted by a closing wooden lid but not by a soft push of a finger. I doubt that it’s broken.

  4. To me, the term “Typosphere” is not rigidly focused on typewriters, although as mentioned earlier, it is good to have some sort of element relating to those wonderful machines in your posts.

    I don’t see anything wrong with “killing two birds with one stone”. A blog marketing your art, along with showcasing typewriters or sharing typewriter information is INCLUSIVE, rather than exclusive.

    You may be pleasantly surprised at the favorable reception from both online communities.

  5. I would definitely like to see more of your work. Assuming you are the artist behind this blog header, which I am sure you are, this sort of thing is right up my alley. As you said, figuring out whether to double post frequently or just when the topic is related is tricky. I, personally, click on your blog no matter the title, so (as far as I am concerned) whether it is typewriter related or art related, I will be reading it. Then again, for double posting on every post, perhaps you could include a typewritten page describing the piece ETC (if you have the time). Either way, I am all for it.
    Good luck in your social media related endeavors. It is amazing how these sorts of things rule business nowadays, eh?

    • Thanks, and, yes, I designed both this and my wife’s blog. Unfortunately, after spending a couple days working on the new blog, I just entered some url info in one of the settings panel and the entire site crashed, and I can no longer access it. !@#$^%#@!! I now have to spend days fixing it!

  6. This may be a bit of a surprise – but I actually have three blogs of my own. Although, at the moment two of those are quite dormant. It is often hard to find energy to run all of them, and give them the mindspace to write meaningful posts.

    However, unlike yourself none of these blogs are for commercial value. I can see what you are trying to achieve with your blog – ie. create an environment around your art. Having worked in the arts myself, I understand how important an environment and public perception of your art is, in order to sell – and successfully co-ordinate it as a business.

    But don’t go too hard on your blog. You need to post consistently, but you also need it to be audience meaninful. My political blog is quite pointed, and I actually use facebook to advertise new posts – as people are usually quite reluctant to subscribe. To that end, facebook group membership can be equally as important to the success of your blog, as your material in the blog itself.

    I don’t advertise my typwriter blog anywhere other than twitter and Google+ So it has a limited, but direct audience that is personal. Which is what I like about our typosphere interactions, I can keep it personal, without being seen as one-dimensional. That’s the difference with the typosphere – this place represents the depths of the things that make our character, not the defining charactistics.

    Anyway….. Back on the subject.

    Facebook also allows for public interraction, without having your own blog’s wall (comments) exposed to be easily trolled.

    • I actually don’t advertise or have a FB or Twitter account connected to this blog. I created this strictly to interact with the typosphere community, and also to post other things not really connected to my work. It was kind of like one of those drawers in the kitchen where you throw stuff that has no other place…well, such a drawer doesn’t exist in my house, because my wife is too organized to allow it. However, I know of people who have such drawers, so I trust you know the kind of thing I’m referring to.

      In any case, even though this blog wasn’t meant as a place to showcase my work, I obviously designed it and include little drawings and doodles here and there. But I do that more for aesthetic reasons, and not to say, “Here’s my artwork”.

Leave a Reply

